INEC Declares APC’S Badaru Winner In Jigawa, Al-Makura In Nasarawa

The All Progressoves Congress (APC) governorship candidate, Mohammadu Badaru has been declared winner of the gubernatorial election Jigawa State.

He defeated his Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) opponent, Mallam Aminu Ringim by 648,045 in 23 Local Government Areas (LGA) of the State to 479,447 in four LGs.

Collation Officer, Prof James Ayatse made the declaration early Monday morning following the completion of collation of results from the 27 LGAs.

The incumbent governor, Sule Lamido, who is serving his second term lost in his Birni kudu LGA, as APC had the upper hand with 45,258 votes to PDP’s 31,166 votes.
PDP gubernatorial candidate, Malam Aminu Ringim had a slim victory with 32,861 over his APC opponent, Mohammadu Badaru, who had 30,984 in Ringim LGA.

Badaru however defeated his opponents with a wide of margin of 36,911 votes to PDP’s 18,542 votes his Babura Local Governments Area.
Makura has won the governorship election announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Lafia, the state capital.

The governor, who won 12 out of the 13 LGAs, polled ‎309, 746, to defeat former Minister of Information and candidate of the All Progressives Grand Alliance, Labaran Maku.

Maku came a distance second with 178983, ‎ while the PDP candidate, Dr. Yusuf Agabi polled 119782.

The results were announced by the returning officer for the Governorship election, Prof. Hassan Rafindadi, in Lafia, the state capital.

Agents of APC, PDP and other parties signed the result sheets except that of Accord Party and APGA, who left the collation centre before th‎e APC candidate was declared winner at about 5AM on Monday morning by INEC.

Gov. Almakura won in Wamba, Obi, Akwanga, Keffi, Karu, Keana, Kokona and Nasarawa, Toto, Awe, Lafia, and Doma local government.

Author: News Editor

2787 stories / Browse all stories

Related Stories »

Provide your email below, and we will notify you the latest news freely.


calendar »